Sandra Noeth

Sandra Noeth is a dramaturge, curator and cultural scholar (amongst others co-curator of the serial project Violence of Inscriptions on the experience and representation of structural violence, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, 2016 – 2018). From 2009-2014 she was Head of Dramaturgy and Research at Tanzquartier Wien, where she developed a series of theoretical-artistic research, presentation and publication projects on concepts and practices of responsibility, religion, integrity and protest in relation to the human body. Since 2012 she has been Senior Lecturer at DOCH/Stockholm University of the Arts; 2006-2009 she was a Research Associate at the Institute for Human Movement Science/Performance Studies at the University of Hamburg. Her work focuses on dramaturgy in dance and choreography, ethical and political perspectives toward body-practice and theory, as well as non-western cultures of movement and the body. She teaches at the HZT Inter-University Centre for Dance Berlin, Frankfurt University for Music and Performing Arts, theatre Academy Hamburg, ashkal alwan Beirut (resident professor in the HWP programme 2015/16) and was a Research Associate to the Dance Congress 2016.

 

Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects

Artistic Articulations of Borders and Collectivity from Lebanon and Palestine

Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects. Artistic Articulations of Borders and Collectivity from Lebanon and Palestine explores how the entangled experiences of the border and of collectivity can be understood and theorized from the perspective of bodies. Thereby, the study advances the hypothesis that bodies as well as their aesthetic, discursive and symbolic extensions are at the centre of these processes of in- and exclusion and consequently hold an analytical potential that is not yet exhaustively explored in existing border scholarship.

The study is situated in the geopolitical and cultural context of Lebanon and Palestine/Israel. It relies on a sample of artistic, body- and movement centred case studies as an exemplary field of investigation: Contingency (2010) by Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Free Advice (2015) by Farah Saleh, and Nothing to Declare (2013) by Dictaphone Group. The findings from the qualitative and comparative analyses of the mixed-media corpus of empirical materials will be put in dialogue with selected theoretical positions from social sciences, philosophy, performance studies and border studies in order to put up the questions: what does it take to cross a border, and what does it take to belong?

With the example of the entangled experience of the border and of collectivity, Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects aims at contributing to a more differentiated reading of the role, status and agency of bodies in social and political processes and equally reacts on a gap in existing research that concerns the academic processing of contemporary artistic practices from the Arab world.

Sandra Noeth

Sandra Noeth arbeitet als Dramaturgin, Kuratorin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin in Berlin (u.a. Ko-Kuratorin des seriellen Projekts Violence of Inscriptions zur Erfahrung und Repräsentation von struktureller Gewalt am HAU Hebbel am Ufer, 2016-2018). Von 2009-2014 leitete sie die Abteilung Dramaturgie und Recherche am Tanzquartier Wien, wo sie eine Reihe von theoretisch-künstlerischen Forschungs-, Präsentations-, und Publikationsprojekten zu Konzepten und Praktiken von Verantwortung, Religion, Unversehrtheit und Protest im Bezug auf den menschlichen Körper entwickelte. Seit 2012 ist sie Senior Lecturer bei DOCH/Stockholm University of the Arts. Von 2006-2009 war sie Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Bewegungswissenschaft/Zentrum für Performance Studies an der Universität Hamburg. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Dramaturgie in Tanz und Choreografie, ethische und politische Perspektiven auf Körper-Praxis und Theorie, sowie nicht-westliche Bewegungs- und Körperkulturen. Sie unterrichtet u.a. am HZT Hochschulübergreifendes Zentrum Tanz Berlin, Hochschule für Musik und Theater Frankfurt am Main, Theaterakademie Hamburg, ashkal alwan Beirut (Gastprofessorin im HWP-Programm 2015/16) und war Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Tanzkongress 2016.

 

Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects

Artistic Articulations of Borders and Collectivity from Lebanon and Palestine

Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects. Artistic Articulations of Borders and Collectivity from Lebanon and Palestine untersucht, wie die ineinandergreifenden Erfahrungen von Grenzen und von Kollektivität aus der Perspektive von Körpern theoretisch gefasst werden können. Dabei ist die Annahme forschungsleitend, dass Körper ebenso wie ihre ästhetischen, diskursiven und symbolischen Erweiterungen zentral sind, um die damit verbundenen Ein- und Ausschlussprozesse zu begreifen und somit ein analytischen Potential vorhalten, das im Feld der Border Studies noch nicht hinreichend aufgearbeitet ist.

Die Studie ist im geopolitischen und kulturellen Kontext von Libanon und Palästina/Israel angesiedelt; sie nimmt ihren Ausgangspunkt in drei künstlerischen Fallstudien, die auf Körper und Bewegung fokussiert sind und ein exemplarisches Untersuchungsfeld eröffnen: Contingency (2010) von Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Free Advice (2015) von Farah Saleh und Nothing to Declare (2013) von Dictaphone Group. Die Ergebnisse der qualitativen und vergleichenden Auswertung des multi-medialen Korpus an empirischen Materialien wird in der Folge mit ausgewählten theoretischen Positionen aus Sozialwissenschaften und Philosophie, aus Performance Studies und Border Studies in Dialog gebracht um sich den Fragen anzunähern: was braucht es, um eine Grenze zu überqueren, und was bedeutet es, sich zugehörig zu fühlen?

Am Beispiel der Erfahrung von Grenzen und von Kollektivität geht es in Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects darum, einen Beitrag zum Verständnis der Rolle, des Status und der Handlungsfähigkeit von Körpern in sozialen und politischen Prozessen zu leisten und zugleich zu einer systematischen wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung jüngerer künstlerischer Entwicklungen aus dem arabischen Raum beizutragen.